We Value Your Privacy

This site uses cookies to improve user experience. By continuing to browse, you accept the use of cookies and other technologies.


Jane Harper's Mystery Novel, The Survivors, Offers Oceans of Salty Secrets

Fans are super excited for the American release of her fourth novel.

jane harper the survivors 2021

Australian crime author, Jane Harper, released her fourth novel, The Survivors, on September 22, 2020. The success of the standalone mystery was so immediately impressive, landing at the very top of the national bestseller list after only one week, that it's now being given its time to shine in America. On February 2, 2021, The Survivors will have the opportunity to burst through the charts all over again, and it most assuredly will.

The gripping plot of The Survivors centers on Kieran Elliott, a man haunted by the damaging consequences of one terrible mistake that forever changed the course of his life. When he and his family take a trip to visit his parents, struggling to make ends meet in a Tasmanian coastal town with a favorable climate, but a hostile class system, fortune seems to favor everyone but the Elliot clan. 

When the ever-crashing sea spits out a sunken boat, and storm clouds roll in after the news of a girl gone missing, it becomes harder and harder for Kieran to keep the secrets of his past from also bobbing to the surface. It was one thing to be troubled with his own inner demons, but now his family, and his parents are pulled into the mess. To top it all off, no one can seem to narrow down the whereabouts of his estranged brother, Finn, who may, or may not, have something to do with all of this. 

Related: Global Thrills and Chills Await You in Europa’s World Noir Mysteries 

In The New York Times review of The Survivors, the writer sings the praises of Harper's fourth novel saying "As always, Harper skillfully evokes the landscape as she weaves a complicated, elegant web, full of long-buried secrets ready to come to light." 

Writing novels that thrill readers all across the globe is just part of a job well done for Harper. In addition to the success of The Survivors, she's won numerous awards for her previous three titles The Dry (2017), Force of Nature (2018), and The Lost Man (2019). Among these awards are the CWA Gold Dagger Award for Best Crime Novel, the British Book Awards Crime and Thriller Book of the Year, the Australian Book Industry Awards Book of the Year and the Australian Indie Awards Book of the Year.

In an interview with Mary Martin Bookshop regarding her latest, The Survivors, Harper said "The Survivors is an Australian mystery full of small-town intrigue and hidden secrets, and the setting has a really important role in all my books [ ... ] The beauty and brutality of the Tasmanian coast was the ideal setting for a story. Its waters are home to more than 1000 sunken wrecks and it’s one of the few places in Australia where divers can explore certain vessels. I always like to include elements of the landscape that are specific to the region I’m writing about, and that felt like an opportunity too good to miss!"

The Survivors in and of itself is too good to miss, and we're excited for American readers to sink into it. 

The Survivors

The Survivors

By Jane Harper

Coming home dredges up deeply buried secrets in The Survivors, a thrilling mystery by New York Times bestselling author Jane Harper

Kieran Elliott's life changed forever on the day a reckless mistake led to devastating consequences.

The guilt that still haunts him resurfaces during a visit with his young family to the small coastal community he once called home.

Kieran's parents are struggling in a town where fortunes are forged by the sea. Between them all is his absent brother, Finn.

When a body is discovered on the beach, long-held secrets threaten to emerge. A sunken wreck, a missing girl, and questions that have never washed away...

This book can be purchase through Books-a-Million, Libro, Target, IndieBound, Audible, or at the major book retailer links below.