8 Legal Thrillers for Fans of John Grisham

    These books are sure to hold up in court.

    Master of the legal thriller, John Grisham—an attorney-turned-author—is one of the most popular writers ever published. But before he turned to the pen, Grisham practiced criminal law and served in the Mississippi House of Representatives. He actually wrote his first book while in office, which was inspired by what he overheard a 12-year-old girl telling a courtroom in 1984. Her upsetting testimony led to Grisham’s first novel: A Time to Kill. 


    But Grisham didn’t gain true acclaim until his second book, The Firm, was published—staying on the New York Times bestseller list for 47 weeks and becoming the bestselling novel of 1991. The rest is history. If you’ve read everything from The Pelican Brief to Gray Mountain, and are loo king for similar reads, then you’ve come to the right place. Settle in for heart-stopping moments that come with some of the best legal thrillers around. 

    The Judge Norcross Novels

    The Hanging Judge

    By Michael Ponsor

    After a drive-by shooting leaves two dead in Massachusetts, a state without capital punishment, the US attorney shifts the homicides into the federal court so he can go after the death penalty. Now, newly appointed judge David S. Norcross is presiding over the first death penalty case the state has seen in decades. And he’ll have to manage everything from a prosecutor and defense attorney at odds to rival gang members in this gripping thriller. 

    The Hanging Judge

    By Michael Ponsor

    The Ben Kincaid Series  

    Primary Justice

    By William Bernhardt

    When Ben Kincaid starts his new job as an associate at a giant corporate firm, his first task is to arrange an adoption or one of the firm’s biggest clients. Jonathan and Bertha Adams have always wanted a child of their own, and when they find Emily—a young girl who suffers from a rare disorder that prevents her from forming memories—they think they’ll finally get to have a family But when Jonathan is found dead, Ben investigates the killing that leads him down a terrifying path he’s not prepared for. 

    Primary Justice

    By William Bernhardt

    The Suspicion Series

    Suspicion of Innocence

    By Barbara Parker

    Attorney Gail Connor is about to make partner at her Miami law firm when tragedy strikes and her sister’s murdered body is discovered. Now, Gail is the prime suspect, and she must fight to prove her innocence in this thrilling novel—all while getting a glimpse of the dark side of the legal system. Suspicion of Innocence is the first in an eight book series, all surrounding Gail Connor. 

    Suspicion of Innocence

    By Barbara Parker

    The Butch Karp and Marlene Ciampi Series

    No Lesser Plea

    By Robert Tanenbaum

    The first book in the Butch Karper and Marlene Ciampi legal thriller series follows Assistant District Attorneys Karper and Ciampi as they work together to convict a vicious sociopath who tries to beat a murder charge by claiming he’s incompetent to stand trial. And with a passion for the justice system like theirs, this duo will accept nothing short of a guilty verdict. 

    No Lesser Plea

    By Robert Tanenbaum

    The Disappearance

    By J. Freedman

    When a young girl goes missing during a sleepover and is then found dead, a year goes by until police make an arrest. Now, the girl’s parents want justice—but defense attorney Luke Garrison isn’t so sure the accused man is guilty. Once a cut throat District Attorney, Garrison switched sides to become a defender after sending an innocent man to die. But he won’t make that mistake again, and will stop at nothing to find the truth behind a young girl’s death.  

    The Disappearance

    By J. Freedman

    The Outside Man

    By Richard Patterson

    An outsider in the South, attorney Adam Shaw has some very powerful clients. When his best friend Henry Cantwell suspiciously flies off the radar after his wife is murdered, Adam dives deep into unfamiliar territory to ensure that his friend isn’t convicted of a crime he didn’t commit, and that the true killer is brought to justice. 

    The Outside Man

    By Richard Patterson

    The Kindle County Series

    Presumed Innocent

    By Scott Turow

    When the dead body of prosecutor Rusty Sabich’s former lover is found, his life is turned upside down. To make matter’s worse, Rusty’s boss, the district attorney, is up for re-election and assign’s Rusty to the case. And when the victim’s relationship with Rusty is discovered, he becomes the main suspect in this heart-racing legal thriller. Fans of the 1990 adaptation starring Harrison Ford will want to read the book the film was based on. 

    Presumed Innocent

    By Scott Turow

     The Samantha Brinkman Series

    Blood Defense

    By Marcia Clark

    If you followed the O.J. Simpson trial, or even the recent dramatization of it in American Crime Story: The People vs. O.J. Simpson, then you’ve probably heard the name Marcia Clark. The prosecutor for the infamous Simpson case is now the author of the Samantha Brinkman series. The first book in the series introduces us to the series’ namesake—a Los Angeles criminal defense attorney—as she prosecutes a veteran LAPD detective for a double homicide, in which one of the victims is a beloved TV star.

    Blood Defense

    By Marcia Clark

     This post is sponsored by Open Road Media. Thank you for supporting our partners, who make it possible for Murder & Mayhem to continue publishing the mystery and thriller stories you love.


    Featured photo: Getty Images

    • book recommendation
    • john grisham
    • legal thrillers


    scroll up